I Was Lucky.

I was always taught never to talk about what I have, but what I can give. From a young age, I learned that people weren’t as fortunate as I was. I have always seen people on the streets, with all their belongings, while I was in a car that probably cost way more than all their belongings together. I never once had to worry where I would sleep the next day, or if there was going to be food on my table. I was lucky.

I attended a private school from preschool all the way up to high school. I had always felt out of place because my parents taught me to be a much simpler person than my friends were. My friends obsessed about materials and things that I never cared about. I was different growing up. As we grew, the girls would be the ones to sit and talk, while the boys were falling in the dirt or scraping their knees in the basketball courts. I, however, joined the boys as they raced down the field with a soccer ball, or dribbled the ball down the court.

I went from having two-hundred kids in a school that had ten grades, to a school without about two-thousand kids in four grades. A smaller school meant a smaller community. Everyone knew everyone, and it was easier to stand out at school. This caused my transition to a public high school to be completely different. I learned to embrace my differences and explore my personality. I learned to stand out.

img_0298

I liked public school more than private school. Not because I choose my wardrobe, because that was never important to me; but, because I was more independent. I had more options. I found myself being able to choose the classes I was to be enrolled in, and had an opportunity to seek what I really love. I was friends with all types of people, who didn’t spend their nights wondering whether their parents were going to buy them the new device they wanted. Instead, people studied and wondered their best was in fact “the best they could give.”

Leave a Reply

