Don’t Call Your Flaws Out

People judge themselves harshly and are self-conscious about certain aspects of themselves that others don’t even notice.  This is portrayed in the House On Mango Street, where Esperanza attends her cousin’s baptism and everyone claims she is the prettiest girl there. However, she just sits down, believing everyone is lying to her face because she is conscious about her shoes. But, she forgets all about her shoes, when her Uncle Nacho forces her to dance and she start to live in the moment. “And all I hear is the clapping, when the music stops. My uncle and me bow and he walks me back in my thick shoes to my mother who is proud to be my mother” (Cisneros 48). 


My friend and I. 

Leave a Reply

