The Transfiguration

          There is an expression that says, “You can’t start the next chapter of your life if you keep re-reading the last one.” Many are too scared to look back, or to move forward in life. The people that try to rush everything are those that are scared to look in the past, petrified that their old life would come and haunt them.  Frightened of what the future might bring, one tends to stay where it is familiar.

          What is the difference between the past, present, and future? One word–change. This is the one concept I have noticed my whole life. People and things change, and there is no way to stop it. Sometimes it is hard to let go, yet some people leap into the future without thinking twice, and very few people talk about the present. Some say because they are too busy living the present that they do not need to address it. Others say that dwelling in the past and focusing on the future, is how they prefer to spend their present because it is more interesting. The past is familiar and determines who they are today, and the future is their planned life ahead.

image1

         The present is all about living in the moment, and either looking back later, or never looking back. Everyone says that the past determines a person’s character, while the future shapes one’s personality, but in reality, the present determines the most about a person because it is neither a memory nor a vision, but reality today. I feel like something has been haunting me in the back of my mind, and all I know is that looking through the past may help resolve it. Afterall, if we don’t learn from our past experiences, then what is our past for? I was digging back through my old pictures when I figured out what was bothering me. I would have never imagined matters would have been this different, in so little time. I felt…quite old. It feels like only yesterday, I was playing hide-and-seek with my parents (without them knowing) or I was yelling at my best friend for losing the rocks we buried at the beach. I remember spending most of my time at home, watching Hannah Montana, and I used to love playing with kitchen utensils. Now, I barely have time to watch television, and I don’t even know how to cook an egg. I loved spending time outside, and I have always loved the sun. I hated the winter because it was too cold to go outside and play. It has always been hard for me to let go of people, places, events, and time. And maybe that is why every once in awhile I need a reminder of what I left behind versus what I have now.

          Looking back, I have realized how much I have changed. People enter and exit my life, like it is not a big deal, but what they don’t know is that they leave a permanent mark. The present may be hard to focus on, but I cherish it. In the Final Shot: The Hank Gathers Story the whole film is about people reminiscing about a basketball player who passed out on the court, and never got up. They have all moved on and continued on with their lives, even though he was always in their hearts. Bo Kimble continued his basketball career in the NBA and shortly after to the CBA. He did not let his best friend’s death stand in the way of his success, but he always remembered him. No matter what the odds may be, it might be better to let go and live every second of our lives to its fullest because it may be the last. The issue with always planning for tomorrow is, with the way things change, what we plan for may not even happen.

Leave a Reply

